Posted by: chicagoshells | October 28, 2011

And…holy crap.

I just ordered $4,000 worth of sperm. I’ve never in my life spent that much money at a single time other than on our home (which, let’s face it, is pretty much just like using monopoly money). We’re still a couple months away from using said sperm, but I fell completely in love with a donor (Jewish? Check. My coloring? Check. Willing to be known? Check.  Reported pregnancies?  Check.  Adorable baby picture that could easily be one of my own? Check. Job and career goals that are weirdly related to my own [semi-unusual] field? Check. Decent health history? Check. Ability to spell? Well, no check, but no one’s perfect, right?) We wanted to make sure the babyjuice would be available when we needed it, so…yeah. That just happened.

I was so nervous making the call to place the order. Seriously, my stomach was in knots, hands were shaking, the whole bit. And then…much like ordering the long profiles and stuff, it was weirdly similar to ordering take-out food. Give Trouble’s name, give the donor #, yes we need washed vials, here’s my credit card number…done. Just a simple business transaction. Which, of course, is exactly what it is. And yet…these transactions will, eventually, hopefully, result in a real live human being. And it doesn’t really get LESS like a business transaction than that.

Responses

  1. Visiting from LFCA. I just wanted to let you know I am thinking about you and praying for a full and speedy recovery.

  2. That is a lot of money. And I truly hope you get a baby out of it!
    Sorry to hear about the accident. Thinking of both of you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

