Posted by: chicagoshells | December 10, 2011

Where I’ve been

It’s been a long time since I’ve checked in here.  Two days after my last post, I was biking home from work and was hit by a drunk driver running a red light.  I shattered my right knee (the kneecap was in 5 pieces) and partially dislocated/tore ligaments in my left ankle.  I had surgeries on both legs and spent 17 days in the hospital, mostly in rehab.  I’m home now, and doing reasonably well, but still off my feet for the most part.  The right leg is considered my “good” leg, and I can hop on it, but still can’t bend the knee.  If you’ve ever tried to “walk” using only one leg that you need to keep completely straight, you’ll know that this is…a bit of a challenge, to say the least (if you haven’t and think it doesn’t sound all that bad, try it and get back to me.  Particularly try to get up a flight of stairs.  Go on.  I dare you.)  Obviously I’m lucky to be alive, lucky that I didn’t have a head injury, lucky that modern medicine exists and I should make a full recovery…but things still, basically, suck.  I’m in this obnoxious waiting period right now where I’m not even doing all that much therapy…just waiting to be told I’m allowed to start bending my knee (another 2 weeks) and allowed to put weight on my ankle (another 6 weeks).

That said…I AM lucky to have an incredible wife…who also happens to be in grad school for physical therapy.  She knows how to “guard” me when going up stairs, and thank god, because otherwise I might still be in the hospital.  Her career plans aside, I don’t know how I would possibly be surviving this without Trouble’s support, humor, and love.  I am so thankful for her.  I’m also thankful to have wonderfully supportive parents and friends (one of whom also happens to be an excellent blogger who encouraged me to start writing again– check out http://bionicmamas.com/).  So…this is me, writing again.

In terms of where exactly this leaves us with our TTC plans…I’m still not quite sure.  We were originally planning to start in January, which isn’t feasible.  I’m hopeful that we’ll still be able to try in February or March.  We do have 6 vials of sperm all ready and waiting, after all (although there was a little wrinkle with that as well…our chosen donor is out of IUI vials, and our clinic doesn’t do sperm-washing.  So we’ll have to go ICI for the first few months and see what happens).  A few months ago, this kind of setback would have made me cry.  But if there’s a silver lining to my whole situation here, it’s that I’m getting a lot better about not sweating the small stuff.  I’m alive, after all.  And we will have children.  And exactly when we manage to conceive the first one isn’t quite so important right now.

Check with me in a few months, though.  I’m sure by then I’ll be back to my neurotic, paranoid, impatient self.

Responses

  1. Wow–I’m so sorry to hear about the accident! I had wondered what happened with you, but so many people start blogs and then get distracted that I didn’t know to worry. I’m glad you’re ok, and yes, no head injuries is fabulous news, but doesn’t make up for the awfulness of the injuries you do have. I hope you’ll keep writing as you heal.

  2. […] to commences efforts to knock her wife up next month, but has been sidelined for the moment by a ghastly set of injuries care of a drunk driver.  CS is an old friend of mine, she’s going to make a damn fine mother, and this is seriously […]

  3. Wow! Glad to hear you are okay and wishing you a speedy recovery!

  4. Here from LFCA — so sorry to hear about what happened though glad, of course, it wasn’t worse. It wasn’t the same sort of injury, but 1.5 years ago I fell and broke my humerus just below the shoulder joint; like your accident it was totally unexpected (i.e. I wasn’t doing anything that I might reasonably have predicted would lead to injury) and had major impacts on my ability to do basic stuff for a long time (like while I could walk — OK, once I had surgery and got the pain under control — for the longest time I couldn’t do dumb stuff like, say, more than the simplest of food prep — basically, I couldn’t cut anything. Oh, or drive.). All of which is a convoluted way of saying I have some clue what it’s like to go suddenly from “able bodied” to not, and it’s rough. I hope you’ll heal as quickly as can be hoped, and it’s great you’ve got good (and expert!) support as you do.

  5. I’m so sorry to hear about the accident. The fact that it wasn’t worse doesn’t make it not suck. I hope that you heal quickly, that the driver has learned a valuable lesson that will cause him or her to change her or his ways, and that you manage to master the one-leg bunny hop in no time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

