Posted by: chicagoshells | December 27, 2011

Updates!

Thanks to everyone  who sent supportive comments after my last post.  It really means a lot.  I’ve become an expert at seeking out the silver linings in my situation, and a big one is definitely how incredible the majority of people in my life– from friends to co-workers to random folks on the interwebs– have been over the past couple months.

Physical update– I got my cast off my left leg and the immobilizer off my right leg last week.  There truly are no words to express how amazing it is to be able to shower with my whole body in the stream of water, to shave my legs again (what can I say, I never was THAT kind of lesbian, even during my 4 years at the most sapphic college in the country), and to sleep in something approximating a comfortable position.  Awesome baby steps, all.  The surgeon thought my range of motion in my knee was “pretty good right out of the gate” and my bad ankle honestly feels barely different from my good one.  I start back to physical therapy today, so hopefully more positive “steps” (feel free to make a bad pun here, everyone else certainly has) are soon to follow.  I’m supposed to start back to work in 4 weeks, which is also when I’m supposed to be able to actually step on my left foot again– here’s hoping!

TTC update– we’re now targeting March for our first attempt.  Along with the obvious need to focus on myself first, Trouble needs another couple cycles to get back into temping/charting.  We were about 2 cycles into it when the accident happened, and with her wife in the hospital, understandably remembering to take her temperature and check her CM weren’t exactly at the top of Trouble’s list of important things to do.  Now she’s on break from grad school and off her regular sleep cycle, etc. so it hasn’t been easy to get back into it…but she’s promised to double her efforts at the start of the semester.  And I’m going to start waving OPKs at the poor woman, too.  I do wonder how on Earth she puts up with me sometimes…

So…there you have it, in a nutshell.  Hanging out with our absolutely adorable 11-month-old nephew this week has thrown me back into full-scale Baby Fever, so I’m sure I’ll soon start spending more time obsessing on the ‘net…not sure if that’s a *positive* step exactly, but right now I’ll take anything that makes me feel more like my (not so) normal self.

Responses

  1. glad to hear you’re on the mend! And a new year’s resolution to start temping again sounds like a good way to kill two birds with one stone. Enjoy the showers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

