Posted by: chicagoshells | March 9, 2012

“It’s like I’m a teenager on Prom Night…”

“…I know I’ll have sperm in me tonight!”

So spoke my amazing Trouble this morning after she woke up and I told her that the OPK she had sleepily peed on earlier had smiled.  Have I mentioned how much I adore this woman?

And indeed, my wife has sperm in her tonight.  Yeah, that’s weird.  Trouble, like me, has no previous experience with the stuff.  But there is a first time for everything, and today was our first insemination.  After all the planning, the worry, the angst…there it is.  We are officially trying to conceive.  I can’t believe it…and at the same time I’m completely euphoric.

So far, so good.  The tank arrived on schedule.  The sample “looked good” (said the staff at the clinic.  I looked at it under the microscope, and yeah, I could see them moving, but I have nothing to compare it to).  We’re using ICI sperm for at least these first few tries, so the actual procedure was pretty simple and not painful for Trouble (which I think I had worried about more than she).  I got to push the plunger on the syringe, so I can do the whole “I knocked my wife up” strut if I ever feel the need.  No, seriously, I was ecstatic to be able to do something beyond holding Trouble’s hand and handing over my credit card.  We go in tomorrow for the second insemination (so we’ll be at about 9 and 30 hours post +opk…there are obviously dozens of schools of thought on all that, but I’m feeling good about that timing).    And then we’ll be officially in the two week wait.

I’m going to do my absolute best to not to go completely crazy. 

My best, in this case, will decidedly not be good enough 🙂

 

Responses

  1. Yay! I’ve been reading for a while and I hope it all works out for you! Fingers crossed! (we’re about to attempt IVF for the first time)

  2. w00t! your wife’s all spermy! (icky….)

    that’s so cool that you got to see it under the microscope. we only ever got to see the vial to check the number. (our clinic uses hot pink medium for the washed sperm. that was…surprising.) the nurse always did ask if we wanted to keep the vials, though, which was kind of cute, even if our answer was Definitely Not.

    • At our second insem today they did ask if we wanted to keep the vial. I said yes. I’m a nerd 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

