Posted by: chicagoshells | August 19, 2012

A Note to My Son

A few days ago we found out that you were a boy!  As the ultrasound tech said, you were very UN-shy about showing us.  You spent most of the time we were watching you trying to turn a somersault.  You are incredible.

I have wanted you, a child, more than I have ever wanted anything.  The only thing that comes close is how much I wanted your Mommy to love me as much as I loved her back when we first met. 

I have to be honest with you (and I will always try to be)…I thought I wanted a daughter first.  I still hope that I have the chance to raise a daughter someday, as well as you.  But the more I think about you, the more excited I am about raising you, my son.  And with nearly all the intensity with which I’ve wanted a child, with which I wanted your Mommy, now I want something else—I want to be a GOOD mother to you.   I think part of the reason I thought I wanted a daughter first is because that seems very understandable to me.  I was a little girl, my friends were little girls, I baby-sat a lot of little girls.  I know what it’s like to grow up as a girl and become a woman, and my closest friends are women.  I don’t know much about little boys, or what it’s like to grow up to be a man.  But I do know some wonderful men, and from the moment I found out you were a little boy, I couldn’t stop smiling.  I am so excited to learn more about boys, and to help you grow up to be a terrific man.  I can’t wait to meet you, my little one.  I love you so much already.

Love,
Mama

Responses

  1. yay! Congrats on your baby boy! I’m sure he’ll turn out wonderfully! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

